Azemmour, historic city
....................................................................................................................................
Azemmour is rooted in the ancient town of Azam, city occupied by the Phoenicians before falling in the hands of the Carthaginians and Romans.

Azemmour, hometown Estevanico
Estevanico said Mustapha al-Azemmour originates Azemmour, who lived from 1503 to 1539.

It's mentioned in various archives expeditionary 16th century under the names of Stephen Black, Stephen the Moor or Stephane Petit-time slave in the expedition of Spanish explorer.

The expedition
Estevanico traveled with Dorantes to Hispaniola and Cuba in the ill-fated expedition of Panfilo de Narváez in 1527 to conquer Florida.
He became the first Moroccan African set foot on what is now the United States of America. The expedition members perished, either drowned or starved, or killed by aborigines except Estevanico, Andrés Dorantes de Carranza, Alvar Nunez Cabeza de Vaca, and Alonso del Castillo Maldonado. The four survivors spent eight years with the Indians of North America before coming to join their compatriots in the region of Sinaloa in New Spain by crossing the Sonoran desert.

In 1539, Estevanico was once one of four to accompany Fray Marcos de Niza in time to guide the search of the fabled cities of gold. However, other Estevanico contracted an illness and was the only one to continue, paving the way for what is now New Mexico and Arizona.
He was killed by the Zuni to Háwikuh who distrusted him particularly because of his gourd filled with feathers of an owl, a bird symbolizing death to the Zuni.
Azemmour, historic city

This city has experienced the presence of the Carthaginians and Romans. But it was the Portuguese who, in the 16th century, have left a lasting imprint of their occupation with ocher walls, their massive doors, its stronghold (Dar el Baroud) whose ruins are dominated by a large tower with a Gothic window.

The bridge over the wadi, we have an overview of the kasbah - fortress and the white houses of Azemmour nestling against each other. With its proximity to the new station "Mazagan Beach Resort Azemmour is becoming a major destination on the Atlantic coast.

A rich history: Azemmour was an important city of Morocco since it hit the bank! Many relics left by the Carthaginian, Portuguese and Arabic authentic medina you will find out what happened.


Holy City, too, where pilgrims flock from all over Morocco to visit his three saints: Moulay Bouchaib Erredad, Lalla Aicha Bahria and Sidi Ouadoud the patron saint of potters. Not to mention the holy Judaic Rabbi Abraham Moul Niss. His tomb when it crosses down the alleyways of the medina toward the footpath along the Wadi Umm Rbia. It is a rocky crevice within which are placed a few benches, beautiful stone inscriptions ...

Busy streets and traditional shops Azemmour make a pleasant little town away from mass tourism. To discover the large weekly market on Tuesday.



In summer you can enjoy the beach of El Haouzia or "Azemmour beach, equipped, guarded, very lively and stretching for several kilometers. Spot referenced surfing, body boarding and kite surfing (surfing champion Kelly Slater and 2009 world champion of kitesurfing race, Bruno Sroka were offered sessions on the waves of this spot).

Two 18-hole golf courses within 7 miles: the Royal Golf El Jadida Pullman and the new Gary Player Mazagan Beach Resort. For players, the largest casino in North Africa is located 3 km away!

previous-month November 2017 next-month
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Poll
You like travel :
With Family
In couple
With Friends
Alone
Newsletter
Enter your email to receive
our monthly newsletter!

Azemmour, cité historique
....................................................................................................................................
Azemmour est établie sur l’antique ville d’Azama, cité occupée par les Phéniciens avant de tomber sous les mains des Carthaginois et des Romains.

Azemmour, ville natale d’Estevanico
Estevanico dit Moustapha al-Azemmouri est originaire d’Azemmour, ayant vécu de 1503 à 1539.

Il est mentionné dans diverses archives expéditionnaires datant du 16ème siècle sous les noms de Stéphane le Noir, Stéphane le Maure ou Petit Stéphane en temps qu’esclave dans l’expédition de l’explorateur espagnol.

L’expédition
Estevanico voyagea avec Dorantes à Hispaniola et Cuba dans l’expédition infortunée de Pánfilo de Narváez en 1527 afin de conquérir la Floride.
Il devint alors le premier maroco africain à poser pied sur ce sont maintenant les États-Unis d’Amérique. Les membres de l’expédition périrent tous, soit noyés, soit affamés, soit tués par les aborigènes sauf Estevanico, Andrés Dorantes de Carranza, Álvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca et Alonso del Castillo Maldonado. Les quatre rescapés passèrent huit années avec les indiens d’Amérique du Nord avant de parvenir à rejoindre leurs compatriotes dans la région de Sinaloa en Nouvelle-Espagne en traversant le désert de Sonora.

En 1539, Estevanico fut encore une fois l’un des quatre à accompagner Fray Marcos de Niza en temps que guide à la recherche des fabuleuses cités d’or. Cependant, les autres contractèrent une maladie et Estevanico fut le seul à continuer, frayant le chemin de ce qui est maintenant le Nouveau-Mexique et l’Arizona.
Il fut tué par les zuñi d’Háwikuh qui se méfièrent de lui notamment à cause de sa gourde garnie de plumes de chouette, oiseau symbolisant la mort pour les Zuñi.
Azemmour, cité historique

Cette cité a connu la présence des Carthaginois et des Romains. Mais ce sont les Portugais qui, au 16ème siècle, y ont laissé une empreinte durable de leur occupation avec des remparts ocres, leurs portes massives, son bastion (Dar el Baroud) dont les ruines sont dominées par une grosse tour comportant une fenêtre gothique.

Du pont qui traverse l’oued, on dispose d’une vue d’ensemble sur la kasbah - forteresse et les maisons blanches d’Azemmour blotties les unes contre les autres. Forte de sa proximité avec la nouvelle station «Mazagan Beach Resort» Azemmour est en passe de devenir une destination incontournable de la côte atlantique.

Une histoire riche : Azemmour fut une ville importante du Maroc puisqu’on y frappait la monnaie! De nombreux vestiges laissés par, les Carthaginois, les Portugais et une médina arabe authentique vous feront découvrir ce passé.


Ville sainte, aussi, où accourent les pèlerins de tout le Maroc pour visiter ses 3 saints: Moulay Bouchaib Erredad, Lalla Aicha Bahria et Sidi Ouadoud le Saint patron des potiers. Sans oublier le saint judaique Rabbi Abraham Moul Niss. On croise son tombeau lorsqu’on descend les ruelles de la médina en direction de la voie piétonne qui longe l’oued Oum Rbia. C’est une anfractuosité rocheuse à l’intérieur de laquelle sont rangés quelques bancs, de belles inscriptions sur pierre…

Des rues animées et des boutiques traditionnelles font d’Azemmour une petite ville agréable loin du tourisme de masse. À découvrir, le grand souk hebdomadaire, le mardi.



En été, on peut profiter de la grande plage d’El Haouzia ou «Azemmour plage», équipée, surveillée, très animée et qui s’étend sur plusieurs kilomètres. Spot référencé de surf, bodyboard et kitesurf (le champion de surf, Kelly Slater et le champion du monde 2009 de kitesurf en race, Bruno Sroka se sont offert des sessions sur les vagues de ce spot).

Deux golfs 18 trous à moins de 7 kilomètres : le Royal Golf Pullman d’El Jadida et le nouveau Gary Player de Mazagan Beach Resort. Pour les joueurs, le plus grand Casino d’Afrique du nord se trouve à 3 km !

previous-month Juillet 2017 next-month
Di Ln Ma Me Je Ve Sa
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
Sondage
Vous aimeriez voyager :
En famille
En couple
Avec des amis
Seul
Newsletter
Inscrivez votre email pour recevoir
notre newsletter mensuel !